What Can You Eat on A Gluten Free Diet

'What can you eat on a gluten free diet' is a question that is troubling millions of people like you globally…regularly. When some of the major ingredients of your pantry beep as ‘danger’, it is in fact quite sane to feel lost and confused.

And you keep asking yourself “What can I eat then” for what seems like perpetually...

True, you may have read or heard that in certain cases gluten intolerance can lead to life-threatening allergic condition like anaphylaxis...but should you allow that worry from leading a normal life?

Yes, there are certain things that you cannot eat on a gluten free diet, but there are certain other things too…healthy things, that you can start eating while on this diet. And the good flip side to this is had you not been intolerant to gluten, you perhaps would have never tried these healthier alternatives.


So...let’s not delay any further.

Here’s a list of food that YOU CAN EAT SAFELY on the gluten-free diet!

Fresh Produce
All fresh fruits, veggies, spices and herbs

Frozen Goodies
Plain frozen fruits and veggies, ice creams and sherbet and gluten free waffles

In The Refrigerator
Milk, cream, whipping cream, sour cream, half-and-half, butter, margarine, cottage cheese, rice pudding, yogurts, and 100% fruit juices

Fats and Oils
Vegetable, olive and canola oils, salad dressings, mayonnaise and shortenings

In Packages, Cans and Jars
Plain canned fruits and vegetables, cranberry sauce, applesauce, spaghetti sauces, canned fish (e.g., tuna, salmon, sardines), canned beans and lentils, gluten-free pastas, organic packaged soups, corn tortillas, etc

Popcorn, rice cakes, soy crisps, rice crackers, potato and corn chips, candies, cheese puffs, jello, chocolates, dried fruits

Meat and fish
All fresh meats are generally safe. Fresh cuts of beef, lamb, pork and poultry. And also hot dogs and luncheon meats labeled as gluten-free. All fresh fish are generally considered safe, however, do check the labels for additives. It's safer to buy from your local butcher or grocery store.

Grains, seeds, and starches
Rice, quinoa, buckwheat, flax, chickpeas, sunflower seeds, potato starch, cornstarch

Vinegars (with the exception of malt vinegar), ketchup, jams and jellies, mustard, horseradish, honey, maple syrup, pickles, relish, olives

For Breakfast
Puffed rice, gluten-free cereals, cream of rice cereal, puffed corn, gluten-free frozen waffles

For Baking
Salt and pepper, sugar, herbs and spices, corn meal, baking powder, gluten-free flours, evaporated or condensed milk, baking soda, baking chocolate, cocoa

Coffee and tea (check for the gluten free status in case of flavored coffees and teas), soft drinks, fruit juices

Nuts and beans
Plain nuts, peanut butter, dried beans and peas, cashew butter, almond butter

As you can see, the gluten free diet list is actually not bad or small at all…it is just different.

And get started with the preparation of gluten free breakfast, snacks and other meals.

So the next time you’re faced with the query “What can you eat on a gluten free diet?” instead of worrying, you’ll know what foods can keep your digestive and celiac problems at bay and also make your taste buds happier!

Article Name
What Can You Eat on A Gluten Free Diet
Studies reveal that around 78 million Americans face trouble daily preparing gluten free meals. Here's how you can beat the challenge.

Leave A Comment...