Do you often wish you didn’t have Gluten intolerance so that the Middle-eastern flavors wouldn’t be off bounds? Because while you can have all the mezze, kebabs, sweets, salads…the question that keeps coming back to you is – is couscous gluten free?
Gluten – the notorious element that anyone with gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease usually steers very clear of… is found in one of the three grains – wheat, rye and barley. And couscous being made from wheat is also a no-no in case you have gluten intolerance because it unfortunately isn’t free of gluten.
But when the Mediterranean cuisine calls, who cannot answer? And believe it when we say that you too can have couscous to your heart’s content! Here’s how…
Gluten Free Couscous Options!
Here are 3 of the best gluten free couscous options available in the market. If you are wondering just how they manage to be gluten free – well the secret lies in the fact that instead of wheat, they are made from other gluten-free grains. So, here goes:
1. Lundberg Farms Plain Brown Rice Couscous
As the name suggests, this one is made from organic whole grain brown rice. They grow their own rice, and this couscous is made from roasted brown rice.
2. Wholesome Kitchen Gluten Free Couscous in Garden Vegetable and Fruit and Nut variants
The wholesome Kitchen’s gluten free couscous is made from millets and therefore is guaranteed to be gluten free. It is available in 2 variants at Amazon at the moment.
3. Goldbaum's Gluten Free Israeli Couscous
For Goldbaum’s couscous, the grain isn’t replaced with grain. Instead a mix of egg whites, tapioca starch and potato starch are combined to produce its substitute.
Of course, the cooking instructions will differ – but if you could have couscous minus the gluten, who would mind a little tweak in the instructions?!
So much for couscous, there is of course another option you have – couscous is usually served as an accompaniment to main courses in Middle Eastern cuisine. And you can just as well replace it with salads made with other gluten free grains. If you were considering these, here are a few good and healthy options you could try out:
- Hot Cereal
- Brown rice
In case you are using these, cook them first and then just mix in with whatever you want to use to flavor them – veggies, spices, aromatics, or even fruits and nuts and honey!
By no means is couscous gluten free… But with these options you too can rustle up a full course Middle Eastern spread – complete with the couscous!