Are You Really Having Gluten Free Oatmeal For Breakfast?

The biggest issue with oats is gluten contamination.

  • Oats is usually part of crop rotation and is grown alternately with wheat, barley or rye. That’s the first level of contamination.
  • Most factory processed gluten free oats fail to pass the gluten cross contamination test consistently – the reason being that they are not always processed in gluten free facilities.
    Photo Credit: aussiegall via Compfight cc

    Photo Credit: aussiegall via Compfight cc

So what can you do to ensure the pack of gluten free oatmeal you pick up at the grocery is 100% gluten free?

According to the Food and Drug Administration or the FDA, oats (among other foods) can be labeled ‘Gluten Free’ only if the gluten content of the final food item is less than 20 parts per million.

Plus, the product should undergo:

  • Purity inspection at various levels
  • Multiple lab testing
  • Certifications

Now for a recipe that you can truly enjoy with gluten free oats…

Ingredients needed:

  • Whole milk or almond milk – 1 cup
  • Water – 1 cup
  • Kosher salt – 1 /2 teaspoon
  • Vanilla extract – 1 teaspoon
  • Whole rolled gluten free oats – 1 cup

Method of preparation:

  • Place a saucepan over high heat.
  • Pour in the milk and water.
  • Add the salt and vanilla extract.
  • Bring it to a boil.
  • While the water-milk mixture is boiling pour in the oats and stir continuously to avoid lumps in the oats.
  • Turn the flame down and let the oats simmer till the entire liquid gets absorbed into the oats.
  • Turn off the heat and let the oats sit till the entire liquid gets absorbed.
  • Top off with your favorite sweetener and serve warm.

Now that the confusion regarding gluten free oatmeal is dealt with, you know what to look for and what to avoid. There’s nothing more satisfying than breaking your fast with a warm bowl of oats….and there is nothing holding you back from enjoying your gluten free oats, so enjoy!

Article Name
Are You Really Having Gluten Free Oatmeal For Breakfast?
It has always been a question among gluten intolerants – are oats really gluten free? Time to find out.

Leave A Comment...